
DATABASES IN SUPPORT TO THE FACULTY OF SCIENCES USERS
Search for Journals
- UJLink: Library Catalogue
- CASE: A-to-Z Journals
- Open Science Journals
- A-to-Z Databases
- Science & Engineering Abbreviations
- ISI Journals Titles Abbreviations
Multidisciplinary Databases
- Academic Search Premier (EbscoHost)
- Academic OneFile(Infotrac)
- Business Source Premier(EbscoHost)
- Dialog (password is required)
- Google Scholar
- ISI Web of Science
- ISI Curent Contents Connect
- ISI Journal Citation Report
- JSTOR
- Science Magazine Online
- ScienceDirect
- SpringerLink
- SpringerLink Images (Open Access) NEW!
- Wiley Interscience
South African Databases
- Africa-Wide: Nipad (via EbscoHost)
- SA E-Publications
- SA Media (via Sabinet)(SA newspapers)
- SabinetOnline
- South African Institute of Race Relations
- South African Survey Online
Mathematics, Statistics & Information Technology
- ACM: Association of Computing Machinery
- ArXiv.org (Open Access: Computer Science, Mathematics, Nonlinear Sciences, Quantitative Finance & Statistics)
- CoRR: Computing Research Repository (Open Access)
- Emerald (full-text & abstracts; Computer Science; Engineering & Technology; Management)
- Engineering Village2
- IEEE Xplore (Journals full-text from 1997+)
- MathSciNet
- Patents ESR@ceNet (via EV2, full-text)
- PhysMath Central (Open Access Physics & Mathematics Research)
Physics
- APS Prola
- ArXiv.org (Open Access; Physics; Astrophysics, Quantum Physics, etc.)
- Astrophysics Data System (SAO/NASA) (Bibliograaphic + Full-text)
- CERN Document Server: Over 900,000 bibl records, incl. 360,000 fulltext documents, particle physics and related areas
- E-Physics for Africa (Open Access Resources)
- Engineering Village2
- IEEE Xplore (Journals full-text from 1997+)
- Inspec(via Engeneering Village2)(Physics Abstracts)
- Institute of Physics (IOP)
- Patents ESR@ceNet (via EV2, full-text)
- PhyMath Central (Open Access Physics & Mathematics Research)
Geology
- Data Metallogenica (password is required)
- GeoRef/GeoScienceWorld
- SAGEOLIT(via SabinetOnline)
- Water Resources Worldwide (via EbscoHost)
Chemistry & Biochemistry
- American Chemical Society
- Analytical Abstracts
- BioMed Central
- BioOne
- Chemical Abstracts Online (SciFinder)(Click HERE to register)
- CSD: Chemistry Structural Database (CD-Rom, APK, CLab)(Crystal structure, Chemical data)
- CrossFire & Reactions: Beilstein & Gmelin (CD-Rom, APK, CLab)
- Reaxys Online (Trial)
- ICSD: Inorganic Crystal Structure Database (CD-Rom, APK, CLab)
- Patents ESR@ceNet (via EV2, full-text)
- PubMed Central
- Royal Society of Chemistry
Botany & Zoology
- Biological & Agricultural Index (via EbscoHost)
- CABI Databases
- Parasitology Database
- Water Resources Worldwide (via EbscoHost)
Geography, Environmental Management & Energy Studies
- Biological & Agricultural Index (via EbscoHost)
- Encyclopedia of Energy(Elsevier)
- Energy Citation Database
- E-Print Network (Energy, Science & Technology for the Research Community)
- GreenFile(via EbscoHost)
- GeoRef/GeoScienceWorld
Engineering Databases
- ASCE: American Society of Civil Engineering Database. (Full-text Journals)
- Cement & Concrete Beton(via SabinetOnline)
- Compendex (via EV2)
- Engineering Village2 (EV2)
- ICE Virtual Library (Civil Engineering Books & Journals; Environment; Energy; Waste Management; Water & Waste Water)
- IEEE Xplore (full-text journals, 1997+)
- Creamer Media’s Research Channel (password is required)
- Inspec (via EV2)
- Patents ESR@ceNet (via EV2, full-text)
Business & Economics Databases
- Business Source Premier(via EbscoHost)
- EconLit(via EbscoHost)
- Emerald
- EasyData (Password is required, pkovatcheva@uj.ac.za)
- RDS: Business & Management Practices (Company profiles & International Industries Reports; International indicators)
- MarketLine (Companies, Countries & Industry Information)
- Who Owns Whom (on Campus only)(SA Industry reports & Company profiles)
- Hospitality & Tourism Complete(via EbscoHost)
- World Advertising Research Center
- World Competitiveness Online (password is required)
- Yearbook of International Associations (Statistics, Human Development, etc.)
Health & Medical Databases
- AMED (Alternative Medicine) (via EbscoHost)
- CINAHL(via EbscoHost)
- Health & Wellness Resource Center(Infotrac)
- MANTIS (Alternative Medicine)
- MEDLINE(via EbscoHost)
- Sport Discus Complete(via EbscoHost)
Education Databases
- Education Full-text (Wilson)
- ERIC(via EbscoHost)
Law
- JutaStat (on Campus Only)
- LexisNexis (on Campus Only)
- HeinOnline (full-text)
- Sabinet Legal Products (South Africa)
- SA Legislation (Engineering & Mining)
- SA Legislation (Health, Safety & the Environment)